The American in London – Part 4 – Time

Hello, you still there? I hope you are there, I hope i didn’t lose you I know its been awhile, but you know life happens. Wait a minute, wait a minute

ahh, there you are behind that bright screen, can I borrow your attention just for a few minutes…

I think the title itself is quite explanatory to what, I am going to talk about, I know what you are thinking spit out already or just get the point. Ohh

don’t get your knickers in a bunch, I am getting there and I promise to make this short and simple for those grammar nazi to not get to upset at the fact of all the grammar problems that you will encounter in this entry, now i got that out of the way, i can dive into it.  Hey you i see just about to hit the switch or the home button and switch to something else more entertaining, sit back down and read the next bits, it could change the way you see things.

Time like linkin park, said once its a valuable thing, we don’t realise how much value it truly is until we actually realise how fast its gone by. I know i can say that because I am about to say its been three years since i left home, and i keep saying its been three years already. shit where has the time gone it was only yesterday, I got picked up and dropped off at my new home, but i guess life happens quicker then we think. To be honest, i think some times life is going to quick, I forget to take the time to enjoy the view and really enjoy life but to be honest it wasn’t until recently as in the last few months that i told myself i wanted to enjoy life and make memories with the people i get into contact with and hear there stories and hear what they have to say and  complain about, your probably thinking, why the hell do you want to hear that, because when you are complaining the other person is probably looking or thinking  something else and gives no fucks remember 80% of the people you complain to don’t care, the other 20% do care, so be the 20% and actually care.  As I have learned, some people all they want in this world is just be heard and listened to and paid attention, yea I am talking to you wise guy who is about to go on to snap chat and see what is going on or that person who is about to switch to Facebook because you rather read the same shit over and over again.

I Know, I am not the first person to say this but Technology has truly seperated us, especially with social media, they say its brings us closer, but it really doesn’t in some cases it does, which is great when it does, but when it doesn’t well its just brings us further.  I know what you are thinking but what a minute but you use Facebook and the other social media, but did you realise how often I actually post something like what I am doing and where I am and what I am doing and who I am with, the difference between you and me I am trying to enjoy life as much as I can and have real conversations with people and not have my phone involved in the conversation. When was the last time you went out and had a real conversation with someone and not stop mid way and be like i have to answer this message or not even say that and just get your phone and dive into your phone conversation, and then you forget what you are talking and you know who you are. So I ask when was the last time you has real conversation, no phone involved or been to a event and  not have your phone out taking pictures and recording every second of the gig and then upload it to some social media format? or my personal favourite when was the last time you actually enjoyed your food and actually dive into your food the minute it comes to your table and you actually enjoyed the people you are with not take a picture and upload every where. Which now it makes sense why our parents told us to get off our phone at the dinner table, because they just wanted to spend time with us not with our phones.

Woooo, now that was mouthful, hey buddy where you thinking you are going, about to switch screens on me again, well looks like we lost one. ohh well I hope the rest will stick around, because i got stories to tell where a phones becomes part of first date and while another that doesn’t. For obvious reason i shall not names of anything of that nature, because I to believe in privacy. So about two months ago my sister when on a date with this guy she met at some local shop in Spain, I thought thats lovely, so after a bit naturally the guy ask her out and they go on date, she says it was nice night the weather was nice lots of people on the streets running about and etc, but then tells me out of no where she goes i felt like I was on a double date with this guy and i go to her what do you mean she tells me the guy was a betting man, so he was constantly checking his phone and being “ look they are ahead” and “ ohh shit” and this went on for most of the night, back and forth and he went on snap chat recording some things going, So I asked my sister did you guys talk at all about anything, she goes we did but then he stoped mid way and checked his phone. So I asked my sister recently did you ever talk to that guy again she said yea i did and I asked him do you remember what wore that night? and his response “ were you wearing a blue dress, with spots on it” and you can imagine what my sister responded “nope it was a red dress” and another question came out from her do you know what i had that night for dinner? “ “Crema Catalana” and her responce no it was “Fabada Asturiana”…… Yup…. it was that bad and yes this actually happen so you tell me? was she really on a date with this guy? technically yes, but say it with me “NOT Really”

ohh look who decides to come back to this entry its mister i would rather be on Instagram and like every other thing. well either way I am glad you are back because i have another story to tell, will you stay for this , this is a tale as old time. Which I made me appreciate, the fact how i was raised not like the guy who went on the date with my sister.. ( no offense, but seriously dude you had to spend the whole time on your phone, really, you are clearly married to your phone)

Anyways, like i said before no names will be revealed and nothing else will be told, just listen to the moral of the story and what a difference it makes when your phone is not involved in a moment.  So I say about two weeks ago, I want to say I went on this date with someone ( i can even tell you the weather of that night, but i wont be because no one cares, but i bet that guy earlier couldn’t remember that, he probably would say it was snowing that night) anyways I picked her up and let me tell you she something she sure was beautiful that night, I was a bit of words to be honest at first, then words came out, from the moment i picked her up and till the end of that night, there was no phone insight, just pure one and one conversation about life another things. and if you asked me how much do you remember, i can remember quite from a bit from the night, because i was living in the moment, and not thinking about anything else and thinking about if so so and uploading my meal and the score from the game and god knows what onto social media and that night i didn’t give five fucks who was contacting me, because she was there and she spoke I listened and till now I can trace back that night and I can remember what we talked about on the side walk.

as the movie from Hitch once said “ Life is not the amount of breaths you take, its the moments that take your breath away”

ohh buddy is that smile on your face, that is coming out, did I just hit a cord on your heart, see buddy putting down your phone and being in the moment and living life can bring back memories to help you when you are down. so next time you are out buddy on  date, or even at a event put down the phone or better yet close everything or just put your phone on silent and just live life is passing us by and your living it behind that bright screen. So on that note I will leave you with this and as The Lady of View once said “ Take a little time to enjoy the view” because life is passing you by. so make time for the ones that want to be in your life, don’t close them out  and be like I don’t got time for this, make time and enjoy that time with them and have a human moment with them.

 

“Did you know the average person spends 4 years of his life looking down at his cell phone? Kind of ironic, ain’t it? How these touch-screens can make us lose touch

But it’s no wonder in a world filled with iMac’s, iPads and iPhones So many “i”‘s, so many selfies, not enough “us”‘s and “we”‘s See, technology Has made us more selfish and separate than ever Cause while it claims to connect us, connection has gotten no better And let me must express first An anti-social network Cause while we may have big friend lists So many of us are friendless All alone Cause friendships and more broken than the screens on our very phones We sit at home on our computers measuring self-worth by numbers of followers and likes Ignoring those who actually love us It seems we’d rather write An angry post than talk to someone who might actually hug us Am I bugging? You tell me Cause I asked a friend the other day, “Let’s meet up face to face.” And said, “Alright. What time you wanna Skype?” I responded with omg, srs, and then a bunch of smh’s And realized what about me? Do I not have the patience to have conversation without abbreviation? This is the generation of media over stimulation Chats have been reduced to snaps The news is 140 characters Videos are 6 seconds at high speed And you wonder why ADD is on the rise faster than 4G LTE But, get a load of this Studies show the attention span of the average adult today Is one second lower than that of a gold fish So if, you’re one of the few people or aquatic animals that have yet to click off or close this video, congratulations Let me finish by saying you do have a choice, yes But this one my friends we cannot Auto-Correct – we must do it ourselves Take control or be controlled, Make a decision Me? No longer do I want to spoil a precious moment by recording it with a phone I’m just gonna keep them I don’t wanna take a picture of all my meals anymore – I ‘m just gonna eat them I don’t want the new app, the new software, or the new update And If I wanna post an old photo, who says I have to wait until Thursday I’m so tired of performing in the pageantry of vanity And conforming to this accepted form of digital insanity Call me crazy but, I imagine a world where we smile when we have low batteries Cause that will mean we’ll be one bar closer – to humanity

  • Prince EA – Can we Auto Correct Humanity
Leave a Reply

